Lee’s Summit R-7 high schools capture nominations in Cappies Theatre Awards program

// Posted By Janie Rohlfing

Several Lee’s Summit R-7 School District students and theatre productions were recently nominated for honors in the Cappies Theatre Awards program, which includes recognition for high school theatre productions and critics. Both Lee’s Summit High School and Lee’s Summit West High School participated in the program this school year.

Through Cappies, high school theatre and journalism students are trained in theatre criticism, organized into teams and assigned to attend plays and musicals at other schools. The students write reviews for local newspapers. At the end of the show season, the critics vote for the Cappies awards. A metro-wide gala will be held May 27 at Excelsior Springs High School to present the Cappies awards.

Lee’s Summit West’s Theatre Department receives the highest number of Cappies nominations for any school in the metro area. LSWHS students nominated follow.

  • Marketing and Publicity – “Mary Poppins” – Madison Crosby and Riley Eggleston
  • Special Effects and or Technology – “Mary Poppins” – Chad Burkhart and Calvin Gaines
  • Hair and Makeup – “Leading Ladies” – Erin Coughennower
  • Props – “Mary Poppins” – Cara Connor and Faith Johnson
  • Costume – “Leading Ladies” – Anniston Barney and Bekah Toone
  • Sets – “Mary Poppins” – Josh Barner and Dylan Brendel
  • Orchestra – “Mary Poppins”
  • Ensemble in a Play – Doc and Butch – Chad Burkhart and Josh Barner
  • Ensemble in a Musical – The Banks Children – Bre Hays and Zach Kavanaugh
  • Featured Actress – Miss Andrew – Samantha Carter
  • Female Dancer – Madison Crosby
  • Male Dancer – Drake Honn
  • Comic Actress in a Play – Florence Snyder – Brinlee Jones
  • Supporting Actress in a Musical – Mrs. Banks – Kayla Lane
  • Supporting Actor in a Musical – Mr. Banks – Ben Ross
  • Supporting Actor in a Play – Jack Gable – Drake Honn
  • Lead Actress in a Play – Meg Snyder – Kayla Lane
  • Lead Actor in a Play – Leo Clark – Bryce Presley
  • Lead Actress in a Musical – Mary Poppins – Abrianah Aldewick
  • Lead Actor in a Musical – Bert – Tyler Frey
  • Best Song – “Step in Time”
  • Best Play – “Leading Ladies”
  • Best Musical – “Mary Poppins.”

Lee’s Summit High School nominations follow.

  • Stage Crew – “The Little Mermaid”
  • Ensemble – Choir and People Among The Dead – “Our Town”
  • Featured Actress – Avery Beavers as Flounder in “The Little Mermaid”
  • Comic Actor In A Musical – Joey Ferguson as Scuttle in “The Little Mermaid”
  • Supporting Actress In A Musical – Elizabeth Bennett in “The Little Mermaid”
  • Lead Actress In A Play – Carly McKay as the Stage Manager for “Our Town”
  • Lead Actor In A Musical – Jack Gerding as Prince Eric in “The Little Mermaid”
  • Song – “Poor Unfortunate Souls” in “The Little Mermaid”
  • Female Critic – Abigail Ervin.

Get Social







District Newsletter Signup


Other News Publications