LSHS students capture awards at Journalism Day

// Posted By Janie Rohlfing

Lee’s Summit High School students recently captured awards at the 49th annual Missouri Interscholastic Press Association competition, held March 29 at the University of Missouri-Columbia. A total of 93 schools competed.

Staff advisors are Marc Russell, magazine and online magazine, and Karla Thompson, yearbook.

Staff members from the  Hi-Life Magazine and website winning awards at the competition included Carter Moore, All-Missouri Award- Newsmagazine Feature Story; Maddy Antey, All-Missouri Award- Online Feature Package; Garrett Stroginis, All-Missouri Award- Online Feature Package; Mikayla Holmberg, All-Missouri Award- Portrait Photography; Mathewos Keller, All-Missouri Award- Social Media Reporting; Mathewos Keller- All-Missouri Award- Social Media Write-off; Maddy Antey, Superior- On-Line Op-Ed Package; Parker Tozier- Superior, Student Life Photography; Carter Moore, Superior- Newsmagazine Page Design; Carter Moore, Superior- Photo Illustration; Chris Teeter, Superior- Online Feature Package; Christina Felix, Superior- Online Feature Package; Renee Haskell, Superior- Opinion Writing Write-Off; Aspen DePeralta, Superior- Online Sports Package; David Perkins, Excellent- Sports Action Photography; Parker Tozier, Honorable Mention- News Photography; Carter Moore, Honorable Mention- Sports Reaction Photography; Jordan Turner, Honorable Mention- Newsmagazine Feature Story.

The Hi-Life Magazine was awarded Superior Overall Newsmagazine. was awarded Superior Overall Online Magazine.

Staff members from the Reflector yearbook receiving awards were Sophia Wald, All-Missouri Award- Academic Photography; Megan Capehart, Superior- Sports Action Photography; Emily William,- Superior- Photography Shoot-Off; Molly Lebermann, Superior- Portrait Photography; Britten Duet, Excellent- Yearbook Package; Katlyn Mrachek, Excellent- Yearbook Package; Britten Duet, Excellent- Yearbook Package; Bailie Murphy, Excellent- Yearbook Package; Britten Duet, Excellent- Yearbook Package; Piper Zentner, Excellent- Yearbook Package; Melanie Oliva, Honorable Mention- Photo Illustration; Britten Duet, Honorable Mention- Yearbook Package; Madison Hetzel, Honorable Mention- Sports Reaction Photography; Melanie Oliva, Honorable Mention- Yearbook Package; Ally Franklin, Honorable Mention- Yearbook Package; Molly Lebermann, Honorable Mention- Yearbook Package.

Get Social







District Newsletter Signup


Other News Publications