LSNHS National Honor Society receives Hope House’s Young Philanthropist of the Year Award

// Posted By Janie Rohlfing

The Lee’s Summit North High School National Honor Society received the Young Philanthropist of the Year Award from Hope House. The student organization was recognized at Hope House’s Feb. 16 Everyday Hero Luncheon.

National Honor Society was selected for the award based on the group’s ongoing commitment to Hope House, including donating time and collecting donations to help the facility’s residents. Lee’s Summit North National Honor Society has worked closely with Hope House for more than 15 years, said Chuck Stephenson, a long-time faculty advisor for the organization who recently retired.

So far this school year, the LSNHS students have organized a Halloween costume shop, family movie night and Valentine’s Day party for residents of the local Hope House. National Honor Society also collected more than 100 pairs of jeans during a denim drive in November and raised over $300 during a spare change drive in January. The LSNHS students are planning a spa night during March for the women at Hope House.

Pictured at the recognition are (from left) Alex Vest (LSN NHS Hope House Committee chair), Ashley Washington (faculty Adviser), Coleman Crosby (LSN NHS treasurer), Sarah Cline (Hope House volunteer coordinator), Lilly Frevert (LSN NHS Hope House Committee chair), Maleah Ahuja (LSN NHS president), Amy Yang (LSN NHS historian), Dr. Jeff Meisenheimer (LSN principal) and Chuck Stephenson (retired LSN NHS faculty adviser).

Get Social







District Newsletter Signup


Other News Publications