Optimists recognize elementary “super citizens” for November

// Posted By Janie Rohlfing

Elementary student winners of the November Optimist Super Citizen Award were recognized recently at Lee’s Summit R-7 grade schools.

The award is presented monthly to students in R-7 elementary schools. Mason Elementary School conducts a monthly “Character Counts” awards program in cooperation with the Lake Lotawana Optimist Club, and these winners are recognized in separate articles.

Super Citizen winners are selected by teachers based on criteria set by the Optimist Club and the school staff. The award is usually based on the Optimist Creed, although each school’s staff may determine criteria for some months.

Students receive the award from Optimist members during either a PTA meeting or another school presentation. The Optimist Club is a local civic organization dedicated to youth. It meets weekly and is open to both men and women.

Winners (listed in order from kindergarten through sixth grade) are:
Cedar Creek: Owen Mallen, Liam Belzeski, Madelyn Diehl, Logan Schackelford, Kendall Whiteside, Ty Bleckinger and Joanne Amimo.
Greenwood: Tanner Marx, Charlotte Fosno, Sarah Fernandez, Tyler Jacobs, Kayla Stevinson, Jobey Hill and Kameryn Bishop.
Hawthorn Hill: Hannah Lavery, Adelyn Heider, Jackson Palmer, Chase Clement, Olivia Scraggs, Stella Robertson and Stacie McCracken.
Hazel Grove: Nadia McConnell, Teagan Trout, Roman Sheffer, Miley Bruce, Olivia Martinez, Roman Wambugu and Claire Schoonover.
Highland Park: Kaelyn Jerome, Miles Bennaka, Charlie Collier, Zoey Chuba, Addy Graham, John Southard and Danny Schreck.
Lee’s Summit: MariAlice Paszkiewicz, Amir Shelton, Ava Buettner, Mavrick LeGrande, Kayla Hubbard, Ryan Carey and Jaliah Hullaby.
Longview Farm: Lucca Abreu, Harris Johnson, Lance Dahn, Andrew McNiff, Lilia Jones, Allison Spain and Bryson Lyman.
Meadow Lane: Owen Wion, Brice Duty, Marques Salmond, Haeley Baker, Camryn Silvers, Quentin Wrinkle and LaRay McKinley.
Pleasant Lea: Oge Egbuniwe, Riggs Poos, Declan Champ, Lauren Felker, Nora Conard, Haven Anderson and Summer Morrill.
Prairie View: (Due to Prairie View’s large size, two Super Citizen Awards are presented in each grade level each month). First set: Jaelyn Shields, Grayson Hunt, Timothy Beck, Neil Daniels, Elvis Chu and Dylan Barry. Second set: Alexis Rockhold, Shiloh Zabroski, Leata Iatala, Logan Ryan, Corban Zabroski, Jillian Sievers and Aidan Gutierrez.
Richardson: Catori Ruhl, Gabi Szymanski, Alexa Andersen, Lucas Duncan, Abbigail Grubbs, Hailey Baldwin and Xavier Carr.
Summit Pointe: Ramiyah Cox, Chesney Dublinski, Ali Kate Ireland, Ava Burnett, Samuel Darkwah, Addison Jauernig and Jackson Brink.
Sunset Valley: Lillee Melton, Junior Vasquez, Caleb Green, Teagan Easton, Leilani Martin, Jaydan Gipson and Jacob Halford.
Trailridge: Pierce Roth, Noah Jaramillo, Layla Becker, Kim Tran, Dakota Penrod, Drew Dickerson and Maddie Drees.
Underwood: Christopher Adkins, Naomi Randolph, Kori Graves, Addison Toney, Addie Martinez, Taylor Borchers, Simcy Conner and Alexis Clark.
Westview: Mae Burgess, Kearstin Bogart, Savannah Frenking, Mylee Parish, Cheyenne Smith, Daniel Schmidt and Liberty Gentry.
Woodland: Maren Daugherty, Veda Duckworth-Torrez, Livia Snelling, Leilani McCoy Brooks, Brennen Chidester, Kennedy Cramer and Addison Zeiler.

Students receive a certificate, an Optimist Super Citizen T-shirt and certificates for free gifts from local businesses. Parents of winners receive a bumper sticker stating “Parent of an Optimist Super Citizen.”

The award is sponsored by the Lee’s Summit Optimist Club. It is designed to recognize students with varied talents.

Get Social







District Newsletter Signup


Other News Publications