Seven LS R-7 students named National Merit commended students

// Posted By Janie Rohlfing

Seven Lee’s Summit R-7 School District seniors were recently named National Merit Scholarship Corporation commended students through the national program. Students recognized are Paige Anschutz, Darrin Cottini, Ali Dowlatshahi and Dawson Sims, Lee’s Summit High School; Maggie Curran, Lee’s Summit North High School; and Mallory J. Lee, Lee’s Summit West High School. Miriam Merritt, formerly of LSNHS who recently transferred to another school, is also a commended student.

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation conducts the program for academically talented seniors. About 34,000 commended students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Although they will not continue in the 2017 competition for Merit Scholarship awards, commended students placed among the top 5 percent of more than 1.6 million students who entered the competition by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

Founded in 1955 to conduct the annual Merit Scholarship competition, the National Merit Scholarship Corporation is a privately financed, not-for-profit corporation that operates without government assistance. The organization announced its semifinalists earlier this fall, and commended students were just recently named.

Get Social







District Newsletter Signup


Other News Publications