Skip To Main Content

Teacher of the Year

The nomination form has closed for 2024.  Finalists for Teacher of the Year and Support Professional of the Year will be announced in late March.  The winners will be announced Wednesday, April 17 at a ceremony at the Lee's Summit High School Campbell Performing Arts Center from 5-6:30 pm.

In January of each year, LSR7 opens a nomination process to celebrate outstanding educators in our school community in collaboration with the Lee's Summit Chamber of Commerce. Certified educators with more than 5 years of service in LSR7 are considered for one of two recognitions:

Excellence in Teaching Award: Given annually to twelve teachers, counselors or library media specialists who embody overall dedication and excellence in LSR7.

Teachers of Distinction Award: Given annually to three former Excellence In Teaching recipients who have been nominated again.  

Excellence In Teaching or Teacher of Distinction recipients go on to interview for LSR7's Teacher of the Year award. This teacher serves as a representative all of the outstanding educators in the R-7 district and goes on to compete for Missouri Teacher of the Year awarded by the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education.


Support Professional of the Year

The district also hosts a Support Professional of the Year awards program alongside its Teacher of the Year program for all non-administrative employees who are not eligible for Teacher of the Year.

Any LSR7 employee who has been employed by the School District for at least one year and is serving in a role that is not teacher-certificated, administrative or supervisory is eligible for Support Staffer of the Year.

Six Support Professional of the Year finalists are selected by a roundtable of district administrators and revealed at a spring reception. Read more about eligibility here.

two women holding each other's hands, smiling

Learn all about Jennifer Jones, our 2024 Teacher of the Year.

More Information