Lee’s Summit Chamber, UCM sponsor annual LS R-7 New Teacher Breakfast

// Posted By Janie Rohlfing

Close to 100 educators were welcomed to the Lee’s Summit R-7 School District during an Aug. 7 special event hosted by the Lee’s Summit Chamber of Commerce and the University of Central Missouri-Lee’s Summit. The Chamber has hosted the annual New Teacher Welcome Breakfast for several decades.

During the event, teachers heard from Tyler Morehead, Chamber chairperson; Lee’s Summit Mayor Randy Rhoads; Dr. Nicole Nickens of the University of Central Missouri; Dr. Dennis L. Carpenter, superintendent; and Seth Moses, Chamber Education Committee chairperson.

Michelle Uptegrove, a teacher at Cedar Creek Elementary and Lee’s Summit R-7 2016-17 Teacher of the Year, was the featured speaker at the breakfast.  

Following the breakfast, the new teachers received “goody bags” filled with gifts donated by a number of Chamber member businesses.

Dr. Carpenter speaks to new teachers at the Chamber’s annual event.







Michelle Uptegrove shares her story with new teachers at the Chamber breakfast.






New teachers receive goody bags following the annual New Teacher Breakfast.

Get Social







District Newsletter Signup


Other News Publications